top of page
  • Writer's pictureFreeSpiritedMom

When Hiking doesn’t go as Planned

Updated: Apr 26, 2022

You have your hike day all planned out. You will lunchbreak here, explore this spot and get to this point. But, your kids have a different plan. And it will be as spontaneous as a shooting star.


This is how my hiking outings have gone 99% of the time. It took me a while (mostly for being hardheaded) to realize my beautiful mental plans are just a guideline. When you hike with young children anything can happen and will.



If you have never been hiking with kids before, this blog is for you! And, if you are a veteran hiker with kids, I’m sure this will bring you a few laughs and head nods.


Here are 5 hiking with kid scenarios that will most likely happen and tips on how to work through them without tears (your own tears LOL).


  1. There is a playground where you plan to hike and the kids want to play there instead of hike. If you know the hiking area, do whatever it takes to not park near the playground. Think: out-of-sight is out-of-mind. What if it’s a new spot and you didn’t realize the playground was there? In this case, I do let the kids go to the playground with an agreed upon time frame. I set the timer on my phone, so when it goes off they know it’s time to hike. There is no point of starting the hike off on the wrong foot with disappointed kids. A little playground time won’t mess up your hike; just postpone it a few minutes.

  2. They want to stop and look at every rock, stick, tree, bug…….along the way.

I actually encourage that kind of wonder, fascination, exploration and discovery. So, if you are not on a tight time frame, let them emerge themselves in it. Though, if time is an issue, there are a few things to help motivate them done the trail. I have my kids bring a nature bag with them. That way they can put their treasures in their bag and then examine them later. If it is something you can’t fit into a bag, than I take a photo of it. Again, we can look at the photo later to exam, research or nature journal that find.

3. Your toddler is DONE walking. This is a tough one that I have been dealing with recently. I have tried a few tricks to help but sometimes nothing works and I just have to carry him. That is not ideal. So I have started packing my Ergo into my hiking bag. Since it is soft and flexible, it easily fits in my bag and doesn’t add much weight. This way if carrying is my only option, I can take weight off my arms by wearing him on my front (while my packs on my back). If someone else is with me that can wear my pack, I will wear him on my back. Before I take the carrying route. I try to motivate him with a healthy lollipop (Zolli Pops). This typically works but only until the pop is gone. If his siblings and friends are ahead of us, I’ll try to entice him to catch up with or chase them. Sometimes reminding him of a cool spot (a creek or waterfall) that’s up ahead will motivate, but this only works for hiking trails you know.


4. They are complaining of hunger. It never fails, my kids are “starving” way before it’s time for us to take a snack or lunch break. Trying to explain to them that it’s not time to stop never worked, they would continue to whine. So I decided to start carrying snacks that were easy to get out of my pack and they could eat while still walking. This has helped tremendously with my 6 and 8 year olds (still working on the 3 year old). A few on-the-go- snack ideas are: graham crackers, PB crackers, fig bars, an apple, raisins and trail mix. I have even started having them carry these specific go snacks in their own packs. They can get them out when they want but once they are gone, they're gone.


5. Your kid gets wet, cold, hot or hurt. This one is not as bad if you plan ahead. Just knowing your children will help with this planning. I have two that always get wet and one that always gets hurt. I carry an extra set of clothes for them in my pack or in their own. Dressing in layers is great for colder weather, plus they can take off pieces as they warm up. I keep a simple first aid kit in my pack. It has different size bandages, cleanser for cuts, tweezers, and burn and bug bite/sting ointments.


Even if you come upon a situation you didn’t plan for or know how to handle, calm and cool is always the best way to play it out. So much easier said than done! I know. My best advice is to just go with the flow. If the kids are happy playing in a certain spot on the hike, make that the adventure. If there is no soothing their appetites, then set up lunch where you are at that moment. If the toddler just keeps melting down, call it a day and turn around.


Letting them make some of the hiking choices, like destination, explore spot, and lunch spots can also help with their attitudes. This will help them appreciate the experience even more. Plus, they are less likely to complain since they made the decision.


Don’t let a setback in your hike ruin the rest of your time outside. To be completely honest, when we go hiking I know to have flexible expectations. In the end, I want the experience to be fun, relaxed and memorable (in a positive way) for not only myself but also for my kiddos and the rest of our hiking party.


Hiking with young kids is always an adventure. Remember to expect the unexpected and go with the flow.

Until next time, see you outside!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page